COMMISSIONERS Colleen Coyle Mathis, *Chair* Scott Day Freeman, *Vice Chair* Cid R. Kallen Linda C. McNulty Richard P. Stertz



INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSION

1100 West Washington Street

Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Raymond F. Bladine EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Kristina C. Gomez Deputy Executive Director

## U.S. Supreme Court Upholds Independent Congressional Redistricting

## Monday, June 29, 2015 -

Today the United States Supreme Court affirmed the constitutional authority of the Arizona Independent Redistricting Commission to establish congressional districts.

Commission Chair Colleen Coyle Mathis said: "We are thrilled with the Court's decision. Arizona voters decided that they wanted an independent citizen commission, rather than the Legislature, to be responsible for both congressional and legislative redistricting when they passed Proposition 106 in 2000. This is a victory not only for the people of Arizona, but for the entire country. We are very grateful for the superb advocacy of Seth Waxman and his team at Wilmer Hale as well as all those who submitted amicus briefs on our behalf."

## For additional information contact:

Mary O'Grady, Osborn Maledon, P.A. at 602-640-9352 Joseph Kanefield, Ballard Spahr, LLP, at 602-798-5468